Skip to main content

Moonlight part deux

Tonight's the second episode of Moonlight and I'm going to give it a go because I hear Doug Greenwalt wrote this episode and I'd like to see how he presents the characters within this particular world.

This article from Media Blvd. by way of Vampire Wire says a lot of what many fans have been complaining about for the past week. One interesting thing about this article is that he mentions the current fascination with the paranormal romance genre crossing from books into TV Land.

A snippet:
It’s almost impossible to discuss this series without mentioning some of its genre forebears. Fans of “Forever Knight” and “Angel” have already blanketed the internet with accusations, refusing to watch the show on principle alone. I think that would be unfortunate, because this series has less to do with replicating a semi-successful cult legacy and more to do with the current fascination with the “paranormal romance” subgenre.

One might blame “Laurel K. Hamilton” and her Anita Blake series. In the past few years, the shelves of countless bookstores have been overflowing with a banquet of similar fare. Usually the protagonist is a hot woman experienced with hunting down hard-bodied male vampires, werewolves, and ghosts, but among the romance novelists, the situation is often reversed. Scanning the local Borders is an education in and of itself.



It seems like the trend is catching on with movies & comics as well considering Stephanie Meyer's Twilight is hitting the big screen, Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse is being translated to TV on HBO (yay Brook Kerr!) and Jim Butcher's Dresden Files is leaping from TV to comics. The supernatural is as strong as ever in the entertainment industry. Editors, publishers, agents et. al are looking for the next big thing apparently, according to Nathan Bransford. one of which is an apocalyptic vampire novel worth multi-million dollars and a movie deal.

Paranormal is definitely here to stay. Even once the publishing industry gets tired of the current trend and moves on (cause you know it will), it'll still be around waiting amidst the shadows to be devoured by consistent readers of the genre. And I'll be there right alongside them to eat up the good stories waiting to be shared. :-)

Comments

Danielle said…
Hi Rae:

I've been a fan of the Vampire genre for as long as I can remember. From Anne Rice, to LA Banks, to Laurell K. Hamilton and "Blade", the exploration of life and death and hot, sensuous stories will always draw me. Long may they reign as long as the quality remains high.
Rae L. said…
Hi Danielle,

I'm right there with ya. :-D I hope many authors continue to offer different spins on the vampire folklore genre. I'll be looking forward to them (as long as the quality is good)!

Popular posts from this blog

Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop 2017 @ A Writer's Dream

It's that time again for the Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop! And what better way to bring on the winter than with books and hot, cozy drink!

Since I'm up to my ears in seasonal tv romcoms, I thought I'd share the love and give away your choice of the book version of the movies. So if you've been eager to read 'em sign up below!

Prize: Your choice of a Hallmark winter romance book: Journey Back to Christmas, Love You Like Christmas, Christmas in Homestead, A Heavenly Christmas


+
A $10 Starbucks Gift Card!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thanks for stopping by and happy entering!

Giveaway Ends 12/31/17 and open to all who can legally enter.
Must be over 18 or have your parents permission to enter.
Winner will be announced within 48 hours at the end of the giveaway and also notified by email. Winner will have 48 hours to reply or a new winner will be chosen.
Giveaway is organized by Bookhounds and sponsored by the BookHounds.
Void where prohibited.
Not Responsible for lost, sto…

Book Review ~ Who R U Really? ~ A Highly Recommended Read

Who R U Really? by Margo Kelly

Thea's overprotective parents are driving her insane. They invade her privacy, ask too many questions, and restrict her online time so severely that Thea feels she has no life at all. When she discovers a new role-playing game online, Thea breaks the rules by staying up late to play. She's living a double life: on one hand, the obedient daughter; on the other, a girl slipping deeper into darkness. In the world of the game, Thea falls under the spell of Kit, an older boy whose smarts and savvy can't defeat his loneliness and near-suicidal despair. As Kit draws soft-hearted Thea into his drama, she creates a full plate of cover stories for her parents and then even her friends.

Soon, Thea is all alone in the dark world with Kit, who worries her more and more, but also seems to be the only person who really "gets" her. Is he frightening, the way he seems sometimes, or only terribly sad? Should Thea fear Kit, or pity him? And now, Kit wan…

The 3rd annual Spooktacular Hop - Oct 24th to 31st

Hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer & Rhiannon from The Diary of a Bookworm

We have an amazing hop to close out the month of spooky reads! Over 300 blogs are participating and we're all linked up to give you an awesome hop from one blog to another. Tons of prizes are available including some great reads so be sure to visit us from now until the 31st of the month!

I'm holding 2 great giveaways for you guys today so we'll have not 1 but 2 winners! Woo!

Giveaway #1


$30 gift certificate to buy books. (Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble.com, The Book Depository or any other online retailer of your choice that sells books and has a way for me to send you a $30 online gift certificate).




Giveaway #2  A Big Ol' Box of Books!
One of my fave vampire related and spooky reads along with some more Julie Kagawa goodness!

This is the book that got me hooked on author Tanith Lee. :-)


The Penguin Book of Vampire Stories is the definitive collection of short tales of those deadly b…